September 01

A Journal Prompt…

I have many many Journals.

One might say I have a slight addiction to the hopes and dreams one imagines they are going to fill the pages with..

IMG_20150901_100905

hahahahahahah… and then reality strikes

I crack it open, feel the beautiful paper and smell the crisp whiteness of the page, and then

BANG

The Inspiration, the big dreams disappear. I am overcome that I will ruin it about 2 pages in. So I stack them neatly in my shelf and go back to working on sheets of paper. For some reason that isn’t as scary as filling a whole book!

After having the honour of peering into many Art journalist diaries at a recent retreat, I was entranced by the colourful pages and multitudes of textures that you could literally see there love for colour and playing and trying new things… At no time did I see the fear I had.

So inspired to give it a crack I quite literally cracked open an untainted journal from the shelf, let it open where it opened and started with a quote from the amazing Ronald Dahl

we are the dreamers of dreams

found a medium I was comfortable with and set to work, working quickly so that inner art critic didn’t set to work and taint yet another album (hahahha – maybe next week sucker)

IMG_20150901_102400

watercolour, acrylic pain and prismacolour pencils…. no time for gesso maybe next time, maybe…

IMG_20150901_102502

canson Art journal and watercolours… they rock

So play along….. what are your dreams?

nx